Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

There was a session I missed at BiCon run by the wonderful bisexual actIvist and poet Jacq Applebee called Blackout Poetry that I’d really have loved to have attended but couldn’t because it took place before I was able to arrive. So, inspired by images Jacq tweeted of some of the poems composed during the session, I had a go at my own using my Nine Worlds programme as a way to ease myself back into the wider world after leaving the con.

The technique is simple: you pick an existing page of text and black out certain words in order to draw new meaning from those remaining.

Here is my first attempt, using the Creative Writing track page to express some of my criteria when searching for a good Sherlock fan fiction or, if that time ever comes, when writing one myself.

20140811-180917-65357197.jpg

I also like my Sherlock ace and good ace Sherlock fics are really scarce. There’s loads out there that promises asexual!Sherlock in the description, but then just have to go and completely erase his asexuality (and asexuality in general –how patronising is that “you’re only ace because the right person hasn’t come along yet” attitude?–) because the author doesn’t really get asexuality or platonic love and finds that when they’ve built a relationship that may be deeply romantic and brimming over with love between two or more characters they can’t possibly see how they can’t have sex and right at the very end Sherlock’s involved in a fuckfest (which I don’t mind at all and sometimes seek out, but I hate this when I’ve deliberately sought out an asexual incarnation of Sherlock and invested in this particular version of Sherlock being ace as I read the story. [Sherlock rant over now]. Now, there was an “asexual” on the page I could have used, but I’m not ace myself whereas I am bi and GQ and I liked the idea of writing a Sherlock who reflects me. Blue pen rather than black left the other words half-seen, which I like, but I should have chosen a pen that wasn’t running out!

***Trigger warnings for transmisogyny, harassment, assault and sexual assault below***

My second poem was actually the first one I thought about, but didn’t make until I’d finished Writing. During the con I had a good read of the weapons policy on the Cosplay page. The words that jumped out at me resonated with what I’ve read and heard from trans women about their experiences of be harassed, assaulted and/or sexually assaulted for, in the eyes of perpetrators, not passing or passing too much.

20140811-183927-67167157.jpg

I hope I haven’t fucked up here, being not a trans woman writing about trans women’s experience. If you are a trans woman and you think I have fucked up I’d appreciate you calling me out, thanks.

A (working!) black pen makes the original meaning illegible and draws the eye more to the highlighted words than the blue did. I used a black water-based felt tip so had to be careful not to smudge it on the glossy paper before it was dry.